Mesa Public Library

 
Online Articles & Information Databases  
Go directly to a resource by selecting it from the drop down menu
Jump to:   A   B   C   E   F   G   H   J   K   L   M   N   P   R   S   T    

Academic Search Complete
More than 10,600 titles (over 6,100 full text periodicals, 5,100 plus peer-reviewed), in multiple disciplines including medicine, the sciences, engineering, religion, and social sciences. More than 20 years of back file coverage, with some coverage beginning in the late 1800's.
 
Alt HealthWatch
Full text peer-reviewed journal articles, reports, pamphlets, booklets, and book excerpts covering holistic, naturopathic and alternative approaches to wellness and health care.   
 
Ancestry Library (In house use only)
Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. In the coming year, still more indexes and original images will be added to the new Immigration collection.   
 
Arizona Republic
The daily newspaper for the Phoenix metro area which includes state, national, and world news coverage. Full text of past news is NOT available through AZlibrary.   
AtoZ the USA
AtoZ the USA is a web-based encyclopedia of detailed editorial content and images for 56 U.S. states and territories. It covers more than 100 topics for each state, including maps, demographics, crime statistics, weather and climate, education and government and politics. Each state’s history, flag and official symbols are also included.  
  
Auto Repair Reference Center
Repair information for almost 34,000 vehicles from 1945 models to the present. Includes manufacturers' technical service bulletins and recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, step-by-step photographs, and drawings from the former publisher of Chilton Information and Delphi Integrated Service Solutions.
 
 
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, and United States and Canadian government documents covering archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, literacy and other aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life.
 
Biography Reference Center
Full text biographies of actors, athletes, authors, composers, explorers, significant historical figures, inventors, musicians, U.S. Presidents and current world leaders. Includes biography magazine articles and EBSCO's unique narrative biographies.
 
Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School
Abstracts and searchable popular non-fiction books on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
 
Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition
Abstracts and searchable popular non-fiction for secondary school students on topics including careers, physical and mental disorders, technology, biographies, history, music, art, science, sports, and more.
 
Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition
Abstracts and searchable popular non-fiction books for middle schoolers on careers, health, life skills, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, civics and more.
 
BookLetters
Stay Connected with the Mesa Library through BookLetters newsletter e-mails. BookLetters e-mails are an easy and fun way to find out about happenings at the library and throughout the community. By signing up, timely notices of scheduled activities and events can conveniently be delivered right to your home or office.

BookLetters also keeps you up to speed on the latest services and resources provided by the library with periodic updates from each of our departments. By signing up for BookLetters youll gain access to online book discussions, the hottest new titles and authors, professional reviews of the titles you want to know about, and even our own staff recommendations. You can even reserve the books right from your e-mails.
 
Books and Authors
Expert Book Reviews, Recommendations, Author Biographies - Books and Authors
 
Business Plans Handbook eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of business plans
 
Business Source Complete
Company profiles, financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, SWOT analyses, and peer-reviewed business related periodical resources.
 
ChiltionLibrary.com
Chilton's - When it comes to auto repair, do-it-yourselfers and automotive students have trusted Chilton references for years. Now these helpful resources are available in a simple-to-use database available to them 24 hours a day from anywhere with an Internet connection.
- Take a Guided Tour and learn how to use this database.
 
Countries & Cultures eBooks
Includes health, wellness, and medical journals (selected full text), plus a wide variety of personal health information pamphlets and other sources covering specific conditions, aging, addictions, nutrition, and complementary and holistic medicine.
 
Education Research Complete
Full text peer-reviewed articles, conference papers, and monographs on education administration, policy and funding, as well as on topics ranging from early childhood education to higher education, multilingual education, health education, and testing.
 
Environment Complete
Selected full text journal and monograph articles on agriculture, the life sciences, urban planning, environmental law, and public policy. Indexes over 1,700 U.S. and international journals back to the 1940s.
 
ERIC
Includes citations and abstracts of education articles and reports.   
 
 
FDsys Federal Digital System
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.

Through FDsys, you are able to:
- Search for documents and publications
- Browse for documents and publications
- Browsing by collection, Congressional committee, and date.
- Access metadata about documents and publications
- Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats
 
First Search
The OCLC FirstSearch service is a comprehensive reference service with a rich collection of databases supporting research in a wide range of subject areas. It includes bibliographic and full-text databases in addition to ready-reference tools such as directories, almanacs and encyclopedias. At the heart of FirstSearch is WorldCat®, containing more than 227 million records representing over 1.7 billion holding locations in libraries worldwide. WorldCat adds value to databases in FirstSearch by linking citations to holdings that helps users find these materials in their own libraries and through the WorldCat Resource Sharing service. You can also limit your searches to the collections of your own library or library group.
 
Freegal
Freegal is a music download service, offered to Mesa Public Library Cardholders, for free! Using your library card and PIN number, you can download three songs a week to your computer, and then add them to your personal music player. It’s fast, it’s easy, and it’s FREE!
 
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia entries with color illustrations and maps. Updated annually.
 
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
 
Global Road Warrior
Traveling abroad this summer? Interested in other cultures? Or writing a paper for an international business class? Regardless of whether you have business or pleasure in mind, if you need to research other countries, this new resource may be for you.
Greater Phoenix Digital Library
Check Out eBooks, Audiobooks and More
 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encylopedia
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia is considered one of the best and most comprehensive animal reference sources available. This database includes information on more than 4000 species, covering topics such as evolution, habitat, behavior, ontology, conservation status, and more. It is continuously updated, and users can find answers to specific questions, discover new details about animals they are familiar with, and learn more about little known animals in new and exciting ways.
 
Health & Medicine eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of health & medicine eBooks
 
HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more. Take a guided tour and learn how to use this database.
History eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of U.S. and World history eBooks
History Reference Center
Covers all aspects of history with a focus on America's past. Historical videos, documents, full text journal articles, and photographs bring our human heritage to life.
 
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas on scrapbooking, collecting, games & electronics, model building, birding, knitting, needlework, playing the guitar and more. Includes full text craft magazine articles, videos, and overviews of hobbies from cake decorating to woodworking.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Includes home repair videos for all projects home and garden, plus full text illustrated book and magazine articles on topics from interior design to plumbing and maintenance.
 
Humanities International Complete
Offers full text books and peer-reviewed journals from around the world covering all aspects of classical studies, social sciences, religion, literature, and the arts.
 
Jobs & Career eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of jobs & career eBooks including information on aptitude testing, interviewing and career & industry profiles.
 
Kids Search - Elementary School Research
This child-friendly, graphically-rich interface is designed specifically for elementary/middle school students keeping in view their needs and search abilities. It is both powerful and fun to use.
LearningExpress Library
Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
 
Legal Information Reference Center
Contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
 
Literary Reference Center
An assortment of traditional literary reference works, poems, classic texts, literary journal articles, and critical information about authors and their works. Access biographies, bibliographies, plot summaries, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. For help using this resource, see the tutorial.
 
Literature Criticism
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access for readers of all ages and skill levels. Beginning-level users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
 
 
MAS Ultra-Student Research Center - High School
MAS Ultra Student Research Center (High School Research) contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American and Smithsonian. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and 105,786 primary source documents. MAS Ultra also contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 440,000 photos and maps & flags.
 
MasterFile Premier
Covers current events, general interest, social science, business, biographies and education. Best place to start when you need general magazine or newspaper articles. Most are full-text.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
 
Middle Search Plus - Student Research Center
Search images, encyclopedias, biographies, and historical documents at once. Also includes full text of over 140 popular middle school magazines and books helpful for finishing homework assignments and school projects.
 
Mitchell-On-Demand (In library use only)
 
Morningstar Investment Research Center 
Morningstar Investment Research Center is an all-inclusive investment research database designed specifically for libraries. It features data and analysis on over 10,500 international and domestic stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and more than 800 exchange traded funds.
 
Multilingual Health Databases
Read consumer health articles and fact sheets about common medical conditions and procedures written by medical experts in different languages such as Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog (Filipino) and Vietnamese. Use the map of the body to locate articles about conditions affecting a particular part.
 
 
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 1,530 full text newspapers, providing more than 30 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 684,000 television and radio news transcripts.
 
NoveList Plus
Locate books to read, browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level and learn more about books and authors. For help using this resource, see the tutorial.
 
Point of View Reference Center
Designed to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues, with sources from political magazines, news transcripts and reference books. Also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
 
Professional Development Collection
Offers education, administration and library related full text articles from over 500 journals. Includes peer-reviewed titles.
 
ProQuest Obituaries
ProQuest Obituaries offers more than 10.5 million obituaries and death notices in full-image format from uninterrupted historical archives of top newspapers. With content dating as far back as 1851, this wholly unique database provides both novice and expert researchers from all regions of the U.S. valuable clues about their ancestors, including proper full name, maiden name, spousal information, relatives’ names, occupation, religion, cause of death, and more.
 
Referencia Latina
 
ReferenceUSA
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 102 million U.S. residents.
 
Regional Business News
Full text articles from over 50 business and legal news journals from across the country. Local titles include Inside Tucson Business (1995 - ) and the Arizona Capitol Times (June 2006 - ).
 
Religion & Mythology Studies eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of religion eBooks including information on ancient mythology and witchcraft.
 
Rocket Languages
Extensive range of products allows you to learn a language on your own terms and in your own time.
 
Searchasaurus (Grades K-3 )
Searchasaurus is a kid friendly information tool that is simple and intuitive, making it easy for students to search by icon, keyword or by topic to find the useful information.
Science eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of science eBooks including information on the environment and weather
 
Searchasaurus (Grades K-3 )
Searchasaurus is a kid friendly information tool that is simple and intuitive, making it easy for students to search by icon, keyword or by topic to find the useful information.
 
Small Business Reference Center
Provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business.
 
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Offers shop manuals, standards, and reference books with photos and diagrams to help with tune-ups, brake service, and other routine maintenance, as well as with extensive repairs involving engine and transmission disassembly. Search by brand or model/engine type for resources on the engines of ATVs, boats, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, and motorcycles.
 
 
TOPICsearch
Learn about social, political and economic issues through journal articles, biographies, public opinion polls, government documents, book reviews and other resources organized by popular current events.
Travel Collection eBooks
A cross-searchable collection of travel eBooks
Tumblebooks Library
Tumble Books Library is an online collection of animated, talking picture books, games and puzzles which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they’ll love.
 
TumbleReadables
Tumble Readables is an online collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school and high school students which feature adjustable online text and complete narration. The collection includes chapter books, early readers, teen/young adult novels and classics.
Tutor.com
Tutor.com - You've got homework. We've got help. FREE online help from real tutors.
 
World Book
World Book Encyclopedia Online is a general encyclopedia designed for students in elementary through high school and beyond. It offers simple navigation, colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps, timelines, and related articles from magazines and newspapers on thousands of subjects.

World Book Online Info Finder- contains content and features designed for school-aged patrons' homework and research needs. Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the site features rich multimedia, a collection of age-appropriate science fair projects, a Biography Center, virtual tours, video showcases, links to current events and world newspapers, 21st-century research skills, and much more.

World Book Online Reference Center - In addition to the entire World Book Encyclopedia, the site features hundreds of thousands of complete e-books and primary source documents along with features developed especially for public library patrons.

World Book Online For Kids - This site offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities for younger children. It includes articles, illustrations, maps, interactive games, flags and science projects.

World Book Discover - Designed for reluctant readers, ELL, ESL, and adult literacy students, this collection includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research and translation tools, multimedia, and interactive video to draw students into curriculum-related topics and subjects relevant to older students.

Hispanica - This comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia includes more than 100,000 articles, more than 8,500 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, sounds, and interactive media. It is designed for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and ESL/ELL program participants.

Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica  - Worldbook's Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica en linea ofrece mas de 100,000 artículos con audio, video y presentaciones virtuales. También, hay miles de fotografias e ilustraciones disponibles, además de mapas imprimibles.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - Worldbook's Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos en linea ofrece artículos temáticos para los estudiantes con audio, video y presentaciones virtuales. También, hay miles de fotografias e ilustraciones disponibles, además de mapas imprimibles. 

 
WorldCat
Contains records of books and other materials in OCLC member libraries worldwide.